Quick Links

Quick Links

The Bishop Wheeler Catholic Academy Trust

Application to Family of Schools

Academy Conversion Introduction

In October 2011, the Leeds Diocese published details of a way to take the Coalition government agenda for schools forward.  The CES (Catholic Education Service) were deliberately slow in responding as the Catholic Sector wanted to protect certain advantages which VA (Voluntary Academy) status brings.  For example, the fact that the headteacher, deputies and head of RE must be practising Catholics.  After working with the DFE, Diocese across the country have different models.  In Leeds it is a Catholic Multi Academy Trust.  The Diocese split the 93 schools into 5 areas who could form MAT’s.

Schools in the 5 Diocese of Leeds trusts

This page contains lists of the schools in each of the 5 trusts a school may consider joining:

  • Bradford and Keighley 3 high schools / 20 primary
  • Calderdale and Kirklees 2 high schools / 14 primary
  • Leeds 3 high schools / 19 primary
  • Leeds, Ilkley and North Yorkshire 2 high schools / 14 primary
  • Wakefield 3 high schools / 13 primary