Quick Links

Quick Links

The Bishop Wheeler Catholic Academy Trust

St. Stephen's Skipton History

There is a fascinating page on the School website about the school's history.

St. Stephen's School was first opened in 1854 and was run by various orders of nuns for more than a century (St. Monica’s Convent, which later became a girls’ school, opened nearby in 1861). Holywell Cottage was home to the school master before becoming part of the school in the 1950s.

St. Stephen's School new buildings were opened in 2004 and then added to over the years. The newspaper articles below show some of the extensions made to the new buildings.

St Stephen's School Skipton Celebrates Opening of New Extension (Craven Herald)

Bishop opens Extension at St. Stephen' School (Craven Herald)

If you would like to learn more about the history of our school please check out the Parish website, or the Rowley Collection which has several historic photographs of the school, such as the above photo, taken in 1907. 

Visit the St. Stephen's Skipton Catholic Primary School and Nursery website